JE # 101 – Sweet Return to Christ 2

Part 2 of 2

The Rebel’s Testimony

January 5, 2005, I was scheduled to go home in the province for a two-week vacation. While on board in a Superferry vessel, I laid out my plans for that year. I decided to be serious in my spiritual life. That day, I had a firm decision to follow Islam and be a Muslim for life no matter what the consequences are. That very same day, God revealed something to me. There was “something” that urged me to borrow the TV remote controller from the reception area for me to use in my cabin. I was led by the Holy Spirit to watch The 700 Club Asia which was being aired then on ABS-CBN 2. By the way, I’m a proud Kapuso and I seldom watch programs on Channel 2.

That episode has touched me. They featured a Muslim rebel who came to know Christ. Eventually, I found myself crying all throughout that episode. What was the story? I can’t remember. The Lord was telling something to me during that precious hour. There was an invitation to come to Jesus. Doubts on Islamic faith filled my heart. I was asking, “Is Jesus the truth or is this just a test on my faith in Islam? “

A Bad news

The next morning a “bad” news greeted my breakfast. The Islamic Library (that I planned to visit and do some research about this religion) was raided by authorities for ammunitions that could be used in terroristic activities were hidden there. That made me sad again. The Lord blocked my plan and it made me think that God wanted me to seek Christ and not religion. Two weeks later, I went to the library and found out that it has been closed after the raid.

The Talk

I gave up! This time, I wanted to know the person named JESUS. On the 22nd of March that year, a good friend by the name of Jun Tabilog ministered to my confused mind. The conversation ended up at 4 o’clock the following morning with this soul saying the sinner’s prayer. Honestly, I just wanted to impress Jun with that prayer. Deep inside me is a cry saying, “There is no god but Allah and Muhammad is his prophet.”

Dreaming Jesus

A few weeks later, the Lord Jesus showed Himself to me through a dream. I can’t remember any word spoken on that scene but the Lord’s message was very clear: “Come to me.” On that scene, Jesus was playing as Himself on the play. The dream seemed so real to me. While I was seating on the audience’s seat, the Lord drew closer to me, with blood flowing all over His body, He reached out His hand. I had no other reaction but to cry. Then I woke up. I wept very hard after this revelation and immediately wrote the whole thing on my notebook. This made me abandon my faith in Islam. But there was still another issue that need to be resolved – the Deity of Christ.

I believe that there are so many Muslims around the world who are experiencing dreams like what I had. God can show Himself to these people even without a Christian radio or a missionary around because He loves them.

Pastor Ed Lapiz Preaching

A message delivered by Pastor Ed Lapiz on an Easter Sunday has also encouraged with the Christian faith. It was a preaching that I’ve been searching till this very day. On that preaching, he taught about the foundations of Christian faith and I had no reason not to believe Pastor Ed. He was teaching 1 Corinthians 15. If I’ll hear that message again, I will share it with you because I believe that that message will strengthen our faith in Christ.

July 16, 2005

On a still and quiet Saturday afternoon of July, I reflected on the revelations mentioned above. Finally, I surrendered everything to God, my life, my faith and my future. This is the day when I accepted Jesus as my personal Savior and Lord. Everything was cleared up. It was already clear that only Jesus can save not any religion. Only in Jesus I can find peace of mind and heart. The Holy Spirit also enlightened me on the Deity of Jesus Christ. Pastor Ed’s voice was echoing then.

While on my knees, I realized how the Lord revealed Himself in different ways. God is great! He is awesome! As I experienced, God has proper timing for all of us. While He may allow you to experience something, while He may allow you to go away from Him at some point of your life, at the end of the day, you will still return to God. We have nowhere to go except God. In John Chapter 6, when everybody else left Jesus, Peter still remained at His side saying, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We believe that you are the Holy One of God.” David said in Psalm 139, that wherever we go, God’s presence is there, even in the darkest night. There is no place where God can’t catch us. San ka pa? May eternal life na, secured ka pa sa presence Nya!

If you hear the voice of God, do not ignore it. Listen, be still and obey. He spoke to me in different circumstances and He can speak to you through His Word, the people around you and through events. We just need to be sensitive.

Bren the Servant of God

Today, I joyfully serve the Lord through the Day by Day Music Ministry as choir member and back-up singer of Young Adults Ministry. I also handle finance tasks of Young Adults and Day by Day University Belt. Aside from ministries inside the church, I support various outreaches and administer InspiringEntries.com – a weblog determined to inspire readers.

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

Life Verse

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. “

– Galatians 2:20

Tags:

10 Responses to “JE # 101 – Sweet Return to Christ 2”

  1. Rodel Garcia Says:

    Yehey! Nauna ako mag testimonial sa part 2 ng message mo! To God be the glory! i txt already my Muslim friends. Brother the message is very encouraging para sa mga kapatiran nating muslim na mahal ni LORD. Brother God bless you! To Ahmad Ameenkar, my dear friend also known as GEM, hope you will read bren’s testimony. I love you brother. Continue serving the Lord in Jesus way! God bless your heart! God bless you in everything! People, this page is really awesome! God is awesome in this blog…

  2. Rodel Garcia Says:

    mag comment pala… hehe

  3. Bren Says:

    gnawa mo pang friendster to… hehehe.. thank you brother.

  4. len gamez Says:

    aba oo nga nauna si bro rodel na magcomment kainis. hehehe!

    seriously while reading this testimonial of yours i am really happy that GOD REALLY USED SO MANY WAYS AND MEANS FOR YOU TO REALIZE AND KNOW HIM.

    this tesimony will serve as inspiration to everybody and encouragement to seek for CHRIST AND KNOW HI MORE DEEPLY.

    continue serving GOD THRU DBD. you really are a blessing to us. Keep it up.

    tulad ni rodel pang friendster message ko prince bren. hehehe!

  5. tia Says:

    hi! remeber me kuya bren? tia po from CPAR? ngkikita kmi ni kuya lex sa day b day pg dumadalaw ako sa kptid ko hndi kita ntsetsempuhan. God bless you in everything you do. FIght the good fight of faith! rabah rabah rabah!

  6. jazel Tanghian Says:

    hi bren, this is really encouraging. God’s timing is perfect. God bless you. Te Angga

  7. Marnie Says:

    thank you Bren for this website… I am a devout Catholic and have always had a strong faith..my partner in life is a Christian…and by God’s grace, He has taught me to study the bible, read His words, thru my partner, who I love so deeply… He indeed works in mysterious ways… You are proof of that as well… let us work together as children of God who loves us and watches over us! God bless u!

  8. nars lumbang Says:

    what an inspiring testimony!kakabless mga blogs mo

  9. pleasantruth Says:

    Wow~! I never thought you had this wonderful story of conversion brother. I hope you’d be able to share this on Konek. Glady here~! GBU!

Leave a Reply

